2019Anugerah Budaya – Award for lifetime contribution to study and promotion of Indonesian culture from Governor of Special Province of Yogyakarta, Sultan Hamengku Buwana X.
2017shortlisted for NSW Premier’s translation prize
2012Australian Book Review Copyright Agency Fellowship
2003Shortlisted, NSW Premier’s Translation Prize and PEN Medallion
1984Eleanor Sophia Wood scholarship (Australia)
1982CRA Asian Studies Award (Australia)
1979James Blackmore prize for outstanding contribution to music. Cornell University, USA.
1979Honorary bursary awarded by Friends of Music, Cornell University, USA.